To Eighteen Day 4/30


Sister, my dear sister
I don’t remember much about being eleven
Except, I played Playstation…a lot
And life was simpler than Arial font
No Times New Roman or double space required
I simply wrote imagination, no essays
Hope you do the same with that journal I gave you
I’m sure your mind is as beautiful as the lady you’re becoming
Happy birthday

Daddy, my dear dad
I don’t remember much about having time on my hands these last few weeks
Not handling her well, but you always seem to know how
You’re like Ulysses in Reconstruction
The syntax to my life’s lines
Structure the paragraphs on my thesis of…doing great things
I appreciate how–you bring everything back full circle
Like your bald head, that I miss seeing
It feels good to be home
Feels good to have you home…

Leave a Reply

